Roleplaying In A

Session 1: Character Creation

In General, Props on April 2, 2010 at 4:18 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I ran our first session, which was all about campaign introduction and character creation, in a quasi-seminar format. It was an astounding success and everyone really loved how it worked out.

1. I removed a lot of the furniture from my living room and set up 2 tables, with chairs, in a kind of boardroom set up.

2. I gave away swag! I probably spent $20+ on this but it was well worth it. Swag included dice, pencils, scratch paper, nametags, an NPC business card and a cd that included genre-specific images, music and pdf’s.

3. I included a folder with my pamphlet, a lot of information on the campaign and character creation as well as a player questionnaire and GM evaluation sheets.

4. I hooked up my laptop to our HDTV and created a Power Point presentation that covered the high points as well as a lot of general creation information such as statistics, special abilities and related information. I also included new rules in this.

5. I interspersed various “motivational” poster pictures in the presentation for comedy relief. That was an excellent idea. It took what could’ve been a very dry gathering and gave them a reason to want to see the screen.

6. I uploaded the pdf’s I made of my handouts as well as my power point presentation here in zip format. Take a look and give me your opinions!

7. The whole session took about 4 hours and I was flexible and willing to cut it short once we reached the time we’d set for ending.

8. After everyone left, I took a look at the questionnaires. The answers were surprising. The majority of the players like DM vs PC type play as well as wanting to contribute to character journals and a wiki.

Online Sources Included:

http://curbly.com/diy-maven/posts/680-how-to-make-a-folded-paper-cd-case
http://www.theonion.com/
http://geeksdreamgirl.com/2009/10/19/dd-astrology-with-ryven-cedrylle-fire-signs/
http://puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com/
http://www.rpggm.com/blog/2010/03/25/want-to-be-a-better-gm-ask-your-players/
http://www.ehow.com/how_2078793_gamemaster-laptop.html

I know I’m missing some links there that got lost in the shuffle of putting everything together so I want to thank everyone who posts anything about gaming online, I probably plundered you 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. Looks like things are off to a good start! Looking forward to seeing what characters are developed and actual play reports.

  2. Looking good, Viriatha!

  3. seaofstars: You and me both! One of the concepts was CIA operative!

    Imp: Thanks 🙂

  4. Thanks for the mention and good luck on your game. It sounds like it’s off to a great start. 🙂

  5. You earned it and thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

