Roleplaying In A

The GM (Or, Who Is This Freak, Anyway?)

In General on February 23, 2010 at 9:00 am

My name is Viriatha de Cordova and yes, it’s pretty unique and that’s pretty much my entire outlook on everything.

I started gaming at fourteen when my grandmother gave me “Keep on the Borderlands”. This would be near the same time I discovered Robert Heinlein‘s “Stranger in a Strange Land“. Between the two, I was never the same again.

My family was supportive of my hobby but again, in a pretty unique way. Some years later, when all the hubbub about gaming being “evil” was going on, my grandmother apologized to my mom for introducing me to the game. My mom’s response was, “No, this is the best thing that ever happened to her! She’d be a serial killer or something without gaming!”

I was not an easy child to raise.

Over the years following, I played most versions of Dungeons & Dragons, Cthulhu, Vampire: The Masquerade, Champions, GURPs and anything else I could lay hands on. I haven’t played every game out there but I’ve certainly tried to do that.

I’m also a geek, a housewife and an artist. I darn socks while thinking about the next campaign I’ll run and yes, I’m a girl geek and gamer who prefers to be a Game Master. Not many of us around but we do exist.

My favorite games are usually  science fiction but once in a while I feel the draw of fantasy. I was writing for a blog named “Bard of Valiant” and I might republish some of the thing I wrote there, if I feel it has some relevance to this genre or gaming in general. But I’m pretty bored with the whole fantasy thing and I miss my guns.

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. Good to see you back in the loop, Viri! I’ll be watching this blog for stuff that might help me understand Cyberpunk better.

  2. Thanks and if you have any questions, ASK 🙂 I’ve been playing this genre for some twenty years now.

Leave a Reply

